The Great Divide


Print Reviews

At the age of 32, Stephen Pern crossed over from his native England to Antelope Wells, New Mexico. Five months and two weeks later he arrived at the Canadian border. He averaged 16 miles and half a pack of cigarettes a day…

The funniest travel book I’ve read since Eric Newby…

Tangoes of pure and brash elegance…

Mr. Pern is more than a superb walker. He is a gifted writer…his book is travel writing at its best…

All alone and on foot, Stephen Pern has discovered America…

Reading The Great Divide is like being the companion Stephen Pern didn’t take with him….

Poetry and Motion… Pern is a joy to read…

Amazon Reviews

In the tradition of Least Heat Moon’s ‘Blue Highways’ and Bryson’s ‘In A Sunburned Country’ … Pern takes each encounter and uses it to reflect a bit of the American psyche…

…spilling imagery as brilliant as the mountains he traverses. I felt his pain, I felt his joy. This is a must read.

This book is hilarious at times, actually MOST of the time! I found myself laughing out loud (something very few books have been able to do to me!)…

…compelling reading for anyone considering backpacking even part of the trail – and anyone trying to understand rural America…

Description

Englishman walks from Mexico to Canada along The Great Divide. Lots of pix and maps.